Activity :
Fondation pour Genève prize
2017 Prize awarded to Michael Møller, Director General of the United Nations Office at Geneva

Friday 24th March 2017 at 18h00, Victoria Hall, Geneva

“Michael Møller, better than anybody embodies the famous ‘Geneva Spirit’. He is one of those people for which words such as reform, courage and unrelentless work, are not in vain.”

Ivan Pictet, president of the Fondation pour Genève

This year marked the 15th anniversary of Switzerland’s entry to the United Nations, hence, the Foundation Board felt Michael Møller, a fervent advocate of an International Geneva a suitable choice for this year’s Fondation pour Genève Prize. Møller become Director General of the United Nations Office at Geneva for his indefatigable efforts in creating partnerships within International Geneva to improve communication and situate it in a global context.

  • michael-moller@2x-720x720
Learn more

Michael Møller’s “spirit of Geneva” is principally understood through his actions in these three domains:

  • Møller has attempted to foster stronger relations between the United Nations, international organizations, and the Genevan and Swiss Civil Societies by underlining the advantages associated with a more International Geneva.
  • He also pioneered repair works on the Palais des Nations, an architectural and artistic Genevan monument, which revitalised the role of the Office of the United Nations at Geneva notably the dynamics of its intra-relations, and those with the ONUG.
  • Lastly, Møller renewed the sense of communication in the United Nations by amplifying research efforts focused on researching peace, conflict resolution, international mediation, multilateralism, and human rights. As of result of his unrelenting dedication, Geneva is now an exemplary model for the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals, a project developed by the United Nations. Møller additionally transformed the general perception of the Organization of the United Nations, by demonstrating how it impacts our day-to-day lives. He raised awareness and was a motivating influence for his collaborators and partners, who remain essential cogs of multilateralism even at times when it received the most doubt.

On March 24th, Mr. Møller graciously accepted the 2017 Fondation pour Genève Prize during the ceremony at the Victoria Hall which featured prominent figures such as Kofi Annan, previous Secretary General of the United Nations, François Longchamp, President of the Council of the State and the Republic and Canton of Geneva, Guillaume Barazzone, Mayor of the City of Geneva, Sabrina Dallafior, Deputy Permanent Representative of Switzerland at the United Nations, as well as various other international organizations.

More than 1000 invitees, including 800 high dignitaries were present at the ceremony to attend the laureate’s conference about “An International Geneva more is necessary than ever” to show their gratitude to Møller for his extensive efforts in building bridges between Geneva and the international sphere, and his promotion of the United Nations and multilateralism.

Kofi Annan commended Møller for his work, noting that “When the world is undergoing rapid change, our institutions cannot remain static, and therefore necessitate the type of reform and revitalization that can only be executed by creative and original leadership such as Michael Møller’s. The innovations he carried out brought the United Nations and the people which it serves together as one”.

Very moved by the praises he received, Michael Møller concluded the evening by saying: “Switzerland is the largest yet smallest country in the world. Geneva is the largest yet smallest city in the world. Our relationship with the United Nations isn’t just one of a host country’s, it’s a strong, effective, and enduring one. We could only dream for more.” He also took time to thank all the partners within the International Geneva community who granted him such an honorary distinction. “It’s thanks to those people that I am able to accept this prize with such pride, gratitude and humility.”

Activité:
Prix de la Fondation pour Genève
Prix 2017 remis à Michael Møller,
Directeur général de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève

Michael Møller incarne mieux que quiconque ce fameux ‘esprit de Genève’. Il est de ces personnalités pour qui réformes, courage et travail inlassable ne sont pas des mots vains.

Ivan Pictet, président de la Fondation pour Genève

En cette année qui marque le 15ème anniversaire de l’entrée de la Suisse à l’ONU, le Conseil de la Fondation pour Genève a tenu à distinguer l’infatigable patron de la Genève Internationale, Michael Møller, Directeur général depuis 2013 de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève, pour son dévouement et ses efforts à bâtir des ponts entre les différents partenaires de la Genève internationale, améliorer la communication et stimuler une meilleure compréhension de la valeur ajoutée de la Genève internationale dans le contexte mondial.

  • michael-moller@2x-720x720
En savoir plus

Michael Møller incarne en effet mieux que quiconque l’esprit de Genève par l’action soutenue qu’il déploie notamment dans les trois domaines principaux :

  • Il cultive les liens les plus étroits entre l’ONU, les organisations internationales et la société civile suisse et genevoise, dont il ne cesse de mettre en valeur l’importance de l’apport à la vie internationale.
  • Maître d’oeuvre des travaux de réfection du Palais des Nations, élément caractéristique du patrimoine architectural et artistique de Genève, il a en outre réformé le fonctionnement de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève ainsi que les rapports des institutions spécialisées entre elles et avec l’ONUG.
  • Enfin, il a renouvelé la communication de l’ONU, mettant en avant l’importance et la qualité de Genève pour la recherche de la paix et la médiation internationale ainsi qu’en tant que centre opérationnel de la résolution des conflits, de la coopération internationnale, du multilatéralisme, du secteur humanitaire et des droits de l’homme. Grâce à ses efforts, Genève est aujourd’hui un haut lieu pour la mise en oeuvre des 17 objectifs du développement durable que s’est assignés le système des Nations Unies. Il a ainsi transformé l’image de l’Organisation des Nations Unies, soulignant l’impact sur notre vie quotidienne du travail normatif de l’ONU et des agences spécialisées. Il a sensibilisé et motivé ses collaborateurs et ses partenaires, rouages essentiels du multilatéralisme, à l’heure où il est remis en question.

M. Møller s’est vu remettre le 24 mars 2017 le Prix 2017 lors d’une cérémonie au Victoria Hall à laquelle se sont associés Kofi Annan, ancien Secrétaire général de l’ONU, François Longchamp, Président du Conseil d’Etat de la République et canton de Genève, Guillaume Barazzone, Maire de la ville de Genève, Sabrina Dallafior, Représentant permanent adjoint de la Suisse auprès de l’Office des Nations Unies et des autres organisations internationales à Genève.

Plus de 1000 personnes, dont 800 haut-dignitaires étaient présentes au Victoria Hall pour entendre la conférence du lauréat sur le thème « La Genève internationale plus nécessaire que jamais » et  témoigner par leur présence leur reconnaissance à cette personnalité de premier plan qui ne ménage pas ses efforts pour faire valoir la Genève internationale, rapprocher suisses et internationaux et projeter une image favorable des Nations Unies et du multilatéralisme.

A cet égard, Kofi Annan, qui a prononcé le laudatio du lauréat, n’a pas manqué de relever le fait que : « Au moment où le monde entier est en mutation, nos institutions ne peuvent pas rester statiques, et la réforme et la revitalisation des structures de gouvernance mondiale exigent le type de leadership créatif et original dont a fait preuve Michael Møller à l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève. Les innovations dont il a été le pionnier ont contribué à rapprocher les Nations Unies des peuples au nom desquels la Charte de l’Organisation a été signée. »

C’est profondément touché par les différents éloges qui lui ont été fait que Michael Møller a conclu:« La Suisse est le plus grand petit pays du monde, et Genève la plus grande petite ville du monde. Et notre relation n’est pas simplement celle de l’ONU avec un pays hôte, mais une relation de partenariat fort, durable et efficace. On ne peut rêver mieux, » tout en remerciant tous les partenaires de la Genève internationale qui l’ont soutenu dans les nombreux projets qu’il a lancés et qui lui valent cette haute distinction.« C’est en leur nom que je reçois ce prix aujourd’hui, avec beaucoup de plaisir, d’humilité, de fierté et surtout de gratitude envers eux tous ».